Pam Rhodes - Then Sings My Soul: 40 Recordings Of My Favourite Hymns British Product Audio Samples Available

Then Sings My Soul: 40 Recordings Of My Favourite Hymns by Pam Rhodes

Cross Rhythms Rating: 7/10
CD: Album
Tags: Worship, CD, Album, Choral
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-7 days
Pam Rhodes presents 40 favourite hymns sung by a variety of choirs.

Price: £12.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. All Creatures Of Our God And King
  2. 2. All Glory, Laud And Honour
  3. 3. All My Hope On God Is Founded
  4. 4. Angel Voices, Ever Singing
  5. 5. As With Gladness
  6. 6. Be Thou My Guardian
  7. 7. Breathe On Me, Breath Of God
  8. 8. Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing
  9. 9. Come, Ye Thankful People, Come
  10. 10. Day By Day And With Each Passing Moment
  11. 11. Father, Lead Me Day By Day
  12. 12. Forth In Thy Name, O Lord, I Go
  13. 13. Guide Me, Oh Thou Great Jehovah
  14. 14. Hail To The Lord's Anointed
  15. 15. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  16. 16. Holy, Holy, Holy
  17. 17. I Need Thee Every Hour
  18. 18. I Stand Amazed In The Presence
  19. 19. If Any Little Word Of Mine
  20. 20. In Full And Glad Surrender
  21. 21. Jesus, Lover Of My Soul
  22. 22. Joshua Fought The Battle Of Jericho
  23. 23. Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee
  24. 24. Lead Us, Heavenly Father, Lead Us
  25. 25. Little Drops Of Water
  26. 26. My Hope Is Built On Nothing Less
  27. 27. My Jesus, I Love Thee
  28. 28. New Every Morning Is The Love
  29. 29. Now The Day Is Over
  30. 30. O Jesus, I Have Promised
  31. 31. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
  32. 32. O Worship The King
  33. 33. Rock Of Ages
  34. 34. Shall We Gather At The River
  35. 35. Teach Me, My God And King
  36. 36. The Battle Hymn Of The Republic
  37. 37. The God Of Abraham Praise
  38. 38. Through All The Changing Scenes Of Life
  39. 39. We Plough The Fields And Scatter
  40. 40. Ye Holy Angels Bright
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Brendan O'Regan

To fully appreciate Pam Rhodes' input into this double album you'd have to get the companion book of the same title. With the CD on its own I suppose it's useful for the marketing to have the Rhodes endorsement. As with the other Rhodes collection 'Love So Amazing' this album features a variety of choirs with the London Fox Choir (presumably some session choristers) most prominent. All performances are up to scratch and sound like they were recorded live in churches, with the organ present on most tracks and in fact being too dominant at times for my liking. Fortunately there's a full lyrics booklet for when the words aren't clear. Some but not too much of the material is very familiar - like "Rock Of Ages" and "Battle Hymn Of The Republic". There's some Christmas material as well, like a fine version of "O Little Town Of Bethlehem" well sung by the Ely Cathedral Choir. One or two hymns stand out - like the beautiful "My Jesus I Love Thee" (Fox Choir) which has a lightness of touch and a subtle piano backing while "Joshua Fought The Battle Of Jericho" is sung acapella by the Derric Johnson Vocal Orchestra and the brisk gospel rhythm provides a nice contrast to the more traditional church music. "Day By Day And With Each Passing Moment" has a gentle appealing melody with a reflective mood and words of consolation - "Every day the Lord himself is near me/With a special mercy for each hour."

Style: Choral
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 160095
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Elevation ELE2164D
Items: 2
Release Date: 29 Jan 2016

Pam Rhodes presents 40 favourite hymns sung by a variety of choirs.

As a follow up to the successful "Love So Amazing", TV presenter Pam Rhodes brings together another 40 of her favourite hymns, alongside inspirational reflections and stories behind their meaning.

Pam Rhodes - Hearts & HymnsPam Rhodes - Hearts & Hymns
Hymnody CD British Product Audio Samples Available

£9.97 £13.00

Classic hymns and modern worship anthems unite in a 2-CD compilation.

Pam Rhodes - Love So Amazing: 40 Recordings Of My Favourite HymnsPam Rhodes - Love So Amazing: 40 Recordings Of My Favourite Hymns
Hymnody CD British Product Audio Samples Available


40 hymns chosen by the BBC presenter and sung by various choirs.

For more information about Pam Rhodes, check the Pam Rhodes Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music
Don't know what to buy?

Try our music advice service. Christian Music Advice Service