The Message  - The Message In A Bottle: Jesus, The One Who Saves British Product Cross Rhythms Radio Airplay Audio Samples Available

The Message In A Bottle: Jesus, The One Who Saves by The Message

Cross Rhythms Rating: 5/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Album, Live, Worship, Pop, Airplay
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-7 days
Live worship album from Manchester-based organisation The Message Trust.

Price: £9.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Intro (Spoken Word)
  2. 2. I Hear The Drums
  3. 3. Our Light Has Come
  4. 4. Arise
  5. 5. Calvary
  6. 6. How Can I Not Go- (Spoken Word)
  7. 7. Not Giving Up
  8. 8. Kingdom Song
  9. 9. So Much More
  10. 10. Redeemer
  11. 11. The Message Is Jesus (Spoken Word)
  12. 12. Jesus, The One Who Saves
  13. 13. How Sweet The Sound
  14. 14. You Place Your Hand Over Me
  15. 15. To The Highest Place
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tim Maiden

'The Message In A Bottle' is a live worship album released through The Message Trust who for decades now have been a pivotal organization for evangelism and mission in Manchester schools and beyond. Recorded at a gathering in 2015, 'The Message In A Bottle' features vocals from Jamie Hill, Jonathan Ogden, Christina Otoo-Anakwa and Al Metcalfe, as well as spoken word tracks from Nick Shalavi, Emily Lawson and Andy Hawthorne. The Message exists to take the Gospel to young people in the hardest to reach areas of the country, but as a result, the album isn't completely sure who its target audience is. This is what an album sounds like when it is uncertain whether it wants to be an innovative album that connects with inner-city youths or a worship album to appeal to the UK church going population. The worship tracks aren't bad - it's just we have heard, in recent years, amazing aggregations like Bethel Music, Jesus Culture and Hillsong so our expectations of live worship recordings have gone up greatly. The edgier spoken word tracks seem to be inserted to appeal to younger people but fall flat. Unfortunately, "The Message Is Jesus" featuring The Message Trust founder and chief executive Andy Hawthorne suffers from this identity crisis. The rousing and passionate words from Hawthorne are ruined by an out of place string section, which completely destroys the atmosphere. These strings are at a contrast to what Hawthorne is saying and quite frankly sound like they were added in post-production. Thankfully there are worship songs elsewhere which in part redeem the album, in particular the tracks where Jonathan Ogden (of Rivers & Robots) takes an excellent lead.

Style: Pop
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 158605
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Elevation ELE2168D
Release Date: 30 Nov 2015

Live worship album from Manchester-based organisation The Message Trust.

The first live worship album recorded at The Message. Worship leaders and musicians gathered in Manchester in September 2015, together with a packed crowd, for a meaningful and inspiring worship event.

The CD is split into 3 movements A Call To Worship / A Call To Live Deep / A Call To Go and each movement features 4 songs preceded by a spoken word. One of the spoken contributors is Andy Hawthorne, founder of The Message Trust and awarded an OBE for services to young people.

- Intro (Spoken Word)
- I Hear The Drums
- Our Light Has Gone
- Arise
- Calvary
- How Can I Not Go? (Spoken Word)
- Not Giving Up
- Kingdom Song
- So Much More
- Redeemer
- The Message Is Jesus (Spoken Word)
- Jesus, The One Who Saves
- How Sweet The Sound
- You Place Your Hand Over Me
- To The Highest Place

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music