Rodney Cordner - The Early Years British Product Audio Samples Available

The Early Years by Rodney Cordner

Cross Rhythms Rating: 7/10
CD: Album
Tags: Jesus Music, CD, Album
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
A timely musical retrospective of the career of one of Ireland's most enduring and endearing Christian troubadours.

Price: £9.97 was £10.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Brainwashed (from Don't Look Away) 1978
  2. 2. The One (from Rodney) 1976
  3. 3. Take My Hand (from Rodney) 1976
  4. 4. Turn To Jesus (from Rodney) 1976
  5. 5. Samaritan (from Rodney) 1976
  6. 6. The Trial (from Don't Look Away) 1978
  7. 7. Mountains (Bonus -live- Track) 1981
  8. 8. This Land (from Don't Look Away) 1978
  9. 9. Beautiful Day (Bonus -live- Track) 1979
  10. 10. Tommy's Song (from One One Name) 1980
  11. 11. One One Name (from One One Name) 1980
  12. 12. I Will Sing (from Touch Of Joy) 1989
  13. 13. Like You (Bonus Track Celtic Praise 4) 1999
  14. 14. Mad Mad World (from Touch Of Irish Joy) 1989
  15. 15. Last House In The Street (from Sing For The Song) 1991
  16. 16. There Were Roses (from Sing For The Song) 1991
  17. 17. Gift (from Sing For The Song) 1991
  18. 18. Never Hear Your Voice Again (Bonus Studio Track) 2002
  19. 19. Our Gods (Bonus Studio Track) 2004
  20. 20. Let's Go Out With Joy (from Touch Of Irish Joy) 1989
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

Anyone who knows anything about the UK Jesus Music scene of the 1970s will know the name of Rodney Cordner from Portadown, Northern Ireland. His musical roots were in the burgeoning folk music boom of the '60s, then after he got saved, he eschewed the familiar Christian music circuit and re-established himself in mainstream folk culture. Latterly he's been involved in cross-community reconciliation projects in Ireland, and he's continued to write and tour with his distinctive brand of gritty, hard-hitting roots music. He has 14 albums on his discography, and five of them from 1976 to 1991 have been raided for this 20 song compilation, 'Rodney' from 1976, 'Don't Look Away' from 1978, 'Only One Name' from 1980, and two of his collaborations with French jazz violin maestro Jean-Pierre Rudolph, 'Touch Of Irish Joy' (1989) and 'Sing For The Song' from 1990; there are also various bonus tracks and live cuts. Some of the sound quality is a bit iffy, probably as a legacy of being re-mastered from vinyl - the four songs from 'Rodney' fare rather badly - but there are some classics here, including the very Larry Norman-esque "Brainwashed", and the short but sweet "Only One Name", and the six Cordner/Rudolf tracks are a delight. If you've never had the Rodney Cordner experience, then get hold of this and have your eyes and mind opened.

Style: Jesus Music
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 17880
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Independent JM3
Items: 1
Release Date: 2006

A timely musical retrospective of the career of one of Ireland's most enduring and endearing Christian troubadours.

Rod Cordner - To Be Continued...Rod Cordner - To Be Continued...
Roots/Acoustic CD British Product Audio Samples Available

£9.97 £10.99

A diverse solo album from the veteran Northern Irish songwriter.

For more information about Rodney Cordner, check the Rodney Cordner Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music