Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche Audio Samples Available

The Avalanche by Sufjan Stevens

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: Roots/Acoustic, CD, Album, Recommended, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
21 splendid outtakes from the prolific and eclectic American singer/songwriter.

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. The Avalanche
  2. 2. Dear Mr. Supercomputer
  3. 3. Adlai Stevenson
  4. 4. The Vivan Girls Are Visited In The Night By The Saint
  5. 5. Chicago Acoustic Vertion
  6. 6. The Hanney Buggy Band
  7. 7. Soul Bellow
  8. 8. Carlyle Lake
  9. 9. Springfield Or Bobby Got A Shadfly Caught In His Hair
  10. 10. The Mistress Witch From McClure
  11. 11. Kaskaskia River
  12. 12. Chicago Adult Contemporary
  13. 13. Inaugural Pop Music
  14. 14. No Man's Land
  15. 15. The Palm Sunday
  16. 16. The Pick Up
  17. 17. The Perpetual Self
  18. 18. For Clyde Tombaugh
  19. 19. Chicago Multiple Personality
  20. 20. Pitsfield
  21. 21. The Undivided Self
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Ewan Jones

The imagination of American Sufjan Stevens is awe-inspiring, brilliant and more than a little bizarre. For those not yet intrigued by Stevens' long term project, it's simply this: to record an album reflecting his experiences and observations for all 50 states in the USA. A grand master plan that he is hardly likely to complete (so far he's managed his home state of Michigan, and the follow up Illinois). As you listen to this disc, you pinch yourself as you remember that these 21 tracks are merely the outtakes from the album 'Come On Feel The Illinoise'. Playing 'The Avalanche' is like watching the special features on a DVD to find that they're as entertaining and interesting as the film itself. Stevens played and recorded everything himself, with the help of a couple of backing singers and an additional drummer. God is brought up frequently in exciting and ambiguous lyrics, though his eclectic songs are pitched at a wider audience. Stylistically, there is a rootsy, American edge to the whole affair (Neil Young and Bob Dylan spring to mind) - Sufjan's voice is gentle and friendly, and his songs are knowingly manipulative, frequently beginning with a simple melody and dreamy guitar or raw mandolin, building up to experimental solos, brass bands, strings and flutes, and all manner of other ethnic instruments and percussion. More than just a bunch of outtakes, this disc has more creativity and sense of wonder than most albums.

Style: Roots/Acoustic
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 20020
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Asthmatic Kitty RTRADCD350
Items: 1
Release Date: 2006

21 splendid outtakes from the prolific and eclectic American singer/songwriter.

Sufjan Stevens - A Sun Came!Sufjan Stevens - A Sun Came!
Roots/Acoustic CD Audio Samples Available


For more information about Sufjan Stevens, check the Sufjan Stevens Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music