Michael Card - Telling The World: 20 Timeless Classics Audio Samples Available

Telling The World: 20 Timeless Classics by Michael Card

Cross Rhythms Rating: 7/10
CD: Album
Tags: MOR / Soft Pop, CD, Album
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. Tell The World That Jesus Loves You
  2. 2. I Have Decided
  3. 3. El Shaddai
  4. 4. Face The Light
  5. 5. Abba Father
  6. 6. Livin' We Die
  7. 7. Fan The Flame
  8. 8. Don't You Know-
  9. 9. No Rusty Swords
  10. 10. Jesus Loves Me (This I Know)
  11. 11. Light Of The World
  12. 12. Hound Of Heaven
  13. 13. The Voice Of The Child
  14. 14. Now That I Have Held Him In My Arms
  15. 15. Dragonslayer
  16. 16. God Will Provide A Lamb
  17. 17. This Must Be The Lamb
  18. 18. Love Crucified Arose
  19. 19. Stranger On The Shore
  20. 20. By Your Name
  21. 21. I Have Decided (Reprise)
  22. 22. Tell The World That Jesus Loves You (Reprise)
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Philip Crawley

Michael Card is undoubtedly one of America's most gifted songwriters. This compilation from the "Timeless Classics" series comes with 22 tracks from the early part of Mr. Card's career. The sleeve notes describe his style as "light folk" but it seems only true for the songs you'll know already ("I Have Decided", "Tell The World That Jesus Loves You"). Oddly for a product of Nashville there are occasional resonances of the Baratt Band in a kind of early '80s synth sound meets rockin' good twelve-bar. Occasionally it stays perilously close to Hall & Oates's territory, but the words are top notch in much the same way as Don Francisco paints lyrical pictures that are straight from the Bible. For the most part I enjoyed the songs I didn't know already while his rendition of "El Shaddai" is sufficiently different to stop it sounding like a cover (by the guy who wrote it?). In a way the whole album harks back to a time when a strong lyric and simpler arrangement was important in Christian recordings and although I wouldn't have instinctively gravitated to this kind of album I found it quite refreshing. This stands up well as a collection.

Style: MOR / Soft Pop
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 988
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Word TIMED029
Release Date: 1999
Michael Card - Soul AnchorMichael Card - Soul Anchor
Roots/Acoustic CD Audio Samples Available


For more information about Michael Card, check the Michael Card Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music