Larry Gatlin And The Gatlin Brothers - Pilgrimage Audio Samples Available

Pilgrimage by Larry Gatlin And The Gatlin Brothers

Cross Rhythms Rating: 9/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Country, Album
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
A return to recording on a major label by this veteran country group.

Price: £9.97 was £12.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Narrative - The Pilgrim- I Never Had A Brother
  2. 2. Sweet Becky Walker
  3. 3. Penny Annie
  4. 4. Narrative - The Pilgrim- My Own Personal Pilgrimage
  5. 5. Black Gold
  6. 6. Come Back To Texas
  7. 7. Handsome Young Gringo
  8. 8. Narrative - The Pilgrim- Country Music Will Never Be The Same
  9. 9. Johnny Cash Is Dead (And His House Burned Down)
  10. 10. I've Done Enough Dyin' Today
  11. 11. Narrative - The Pilgrim- Now It's Our Turn
  12. 12. Say, Nashville - Whadda Ya Say-
  13. 13. Narrative - The Pilgrim- He Was There In Spirit
  14. 14. If I Ever See You Or Utah Again
  15. 15. He Bought Her Back
  16. 16. Americans, That's Who
  17. 17. Fill Me
  18. 18. Narrative - The Pilgrim- Little Tin Cup
  19. 19. A Man Can't Live With A Broken Heart Too Long
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Dave Brassington

The album title is an interesting concept as Larry admits that it is partially a tribute to his great musical hero, the late Johnny Cash, but also illustrates his own personal journey through stardom in country music with its highs and lows. The opening track "I Never Had A Brother" is a very personal tribute to Johnny Cash, someone who was a great encourager to Larry in his early career and with whom he remained a close friend for the rest of his life. He even sang "Help Me" at June and Johnny's funerals, a song that they encouraged him with at the start of his career and which he has vowed to sing at every live concert he does as a tribute to their memories, though strangely the song is not included on this album. Larry soon gives us new renditions of two of his popular tunes "Sweet Becky Walker" and "Penny Anne". The rest of the album comprises some original material interspersed with several narrative sections by Larry talking about his musical and spiritual pilgrimage. Included are duets with Lari White on "I've Done Enough Dyin' Today" and the Gaither Vocal Band on "He Bought Her Back". I particularly enjoyed "Black Gold", "Come Back To Texas" and "If I Ever See You Or Utah Again". The only track that I didn't like was "Americans, That's Who" which whilst musically strong grates on me with its patronising lyric purporting the view that American actions in the world are always good! Sadly this isn't the first time such shallow jingoism has crept into country music albums. Having said that, it is really encouraging to hear Larry in such fine form especially when several years ago it seemed unlikely that he would ever sing again due to serious vocal problems. There is a very moving testimony on a Gaither Homecoming DVD attesting to God's healing.

Style: Country
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 95753
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Curb 715187915329
Items: 1
Release Date: 20 Sep 2010

A return to recording on a major label by this veteran country group.

Discover a timeless, storyteller’s album that began back in 1972 when the legendary Johnny Cash took Larry Gatlin and The Gatlin Brothers under his wing. Listen in as Larry Gatlin weaves personal stories of friendship throughout this classic album that features the highly talked about debut single, “Johnny Cash Is Dead And His House Burned Down”.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music
Don't know what to buy?

Try our music advice service. Christian Music Advice Service