Nine Beats Collective - Nine Beats To The Bar British Product Cross Rhythms Radio Airplay Audio Samples Available

Nine Beats To The Bar by Nine Beats Collective

Cross Rhythms Rating: 10/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, R&B, Album, Independent, Airplay, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-3 days
An eclectic soundscape of R&B, soul, rock, pop, acoustic threads, jazz, funk focussing on the Beatitudes.

Price: £9.97 was £9.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Awakening
  2. 2. Call 'Em Out
  3. 3. Blessed Are The Undead
  4. 4. Flame
  5. 5. #Blessed
  6. 6. Wild World
  7. 7. Purgation
  8. 8. 9-8
  9. 9. Child 613
  10. 10. Kosi
  11. 11. Tread Softly
  12. 12. Lament
  13. 13. Song For The Earth
  14. 14. Illumined
  15. 15. The Beatitudes
  16. 16. What Can Love Create-
  17. 17. Towards The Sun
  18. 18. Letting It Go
  19. 19. Serenity
  20. 20. 9 Beats To The Bar Theme
  21. 21. Union
  22. 22. The Way Of Peace
  23. 23. In Recovery
  24. 24. Nine Beats To The Bar
  25. 25. Farther
  26. 26. Give In To The Love
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

As the accompanying press release from Plankton Records states, 'Nine Beats To The Bar' is an eclectic soundscape of R&B, soul, rock, pop, acoustic threads, jazz, funk, African vibes and a hint of gospel. Drawing on the talents of an eclectic pool of world class musicians, artists and songwriters including Rev Vince Anderson, Mikael R Andraesen, Caleb Quaye, Eric Leroy Wilson and the project's producer Tony Bean, this exemplary release takes the beatitudes as spoken by Jesus as its muse and suggests that they might offer up the secret to healing this broken world. With the aim of offering up what the sleevenotes class as a "counter-cultural narrative for our times," the sheer variety of styles from all over the world ensures that proceedings never fail to enthral with the likes of the conscience-pricking blues of "#blessed" and the gentle African rhythms of "Kosi" sitting effortlessly next to theme-expanding rapped numbers like "Farther" and "9/8". Elsewhere, the simply stunning "Serenity" - performed by Martin Trotman who sounds uncannily like the late George Michael - and the smouldering Heatherlyn-sung "Blessed Are The Undead" stand out in an album full of highlights. With a track count totalling an impressive 26 songs, a number of short spoken word and string trio interludes are included which help flesh out the mood of the album whilst providing stylistic stepping stones between songs of differing genres to good effect. Straightforward numbers such as "The Beatitudes" and "The Way Of Peace" make sure that a literal representation of the Beatitudes are on offer amidst more abstract pieces - all of which help give us an immersive and exquisite listening experience.

Style: R&B
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 166040
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Plankton PCDN172
Items: 1
Release Date: 2017

An eclectic soundscape of R&B, soul, rock, pop, acoustic threads, jazz, funk focussing on the Beatitudes.

For more information about Nine Beats Collective, check the Nine Beats Collective Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music