Paul Colman Trio - New Map Of The World Cross Rhythms Radio Airplay Audio Samples Available

New Map Of The World by Paul Colman Trio

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: Rock, CD, Album, Airplay, Recommended, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. Turn
  2. 2. Run
  3. 3. Sun-Stars-Moon
  4. 4. Fill My Cup
  5. 5. Your Sweet Voice
  6. 6. Africa
  7. 7. Let Love Grow
  8. 8. Selfish Song
  9. 9. Love Me More
  10. 10. I Dream
  11. 11. The Killing Tree
  12. 12. Lullaby
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Peter Bate

Straight-ahead earnest rock is all the rage at the mo, and the pc3 (as they like to be known) are not ones to stare a gift horse in the mouth. Following in the slipsteam of Semisonic, Jimmy Eat World and co, Australia's Paul Colman offers a spiritual slant to the genre on his group's major label debut. Openers "Turn" and "Run" are terrific rushes of guitar-pop adrenalin, Colman urging the church/world to "turn this life around" before it's too late. But, despite the catchy worship track "Fill My Cup", things sag a bit in the middle - the band clutching at the MOR safety net a bit too eagerly. Patience rewards, though, as the angsty "Selfish Song" is just around the corner, preparing the way for album highlight "I Dream", a wide-eyed vision of end-time angelic splendour that U2 would be proud of. Peter Bate, a newspaper reporter hailing from Staffordshire, supports West Ham and enjoys The Vigilantes Of Love and all things alt country.

Style: Rock
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 5334
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Essential 083061068622
Items: 1
Release Date: 2002

In 2002, the Australian Paul Colman Trio released New Map of the World. The guitar-based pop/rock project offers listeners upbeat, yet insightful tracks. The most successful independent artist in Australia (as of 2002), the trio, composed of members Paul Colman, Phil Gaudion, and Grant Norsworthy, signed with Essential Records after their music reached both the hands of Third Day frontman Mac Powell and producer Monroe Jones.
Each song on the band's first U.S. release, from 'Run' to 'Fill My Cup,' touches on the album's theme: that as God changes and transforms your life, a new map of the world is being created with boundaries removed and bridges constructed. Additional songs include 'Sun-Stars-Moon,' 'Your Sweet Voice,' and 'Lullaby.'

For more information about Paul Colman Trio, check the Paul Colman Trio Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music