Sam Cooke - My Gospel Roots Audio Samples Available

My Gospel Roots by Sam Cooke

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: Gospel, CD, Album, Recommended, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
 Free UK Delivery 
Classic and timeless music from Gospel's Golden Age featuring Soul Stirrers recordings originally cut for Specialty.

Price: £9.97 was £9.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Peace In The Valley
  2. 2. Come And Go To That Land
  3. 3. I Have A Friend Above All Others
  4. 4. Jesus Done What He Said
  5. 5. Joy, Joy To My Soul
  6. 6. I Gave Up Everything To Follow Him
  7. 7. He's My Rock
  8. 8. Come Let Us Go Back To God
  9. 9. I'm Gonna Build On That Shore
  10. 10. Jesus Will Lead Me To That Promised Land
  11. 11. Let Me Go Home
  12. 12. Someday, Somewhere
  13. 13. Until Jesus Calls Me Home
  14. 14. I'm So Happy In The Service Of The Lord
  15. 15. It Won't Be Very Long
  16. 16. How Far Am I From Cannan-
  17. 17. Christ Is All
  18. 18. Jesus Gave Me Water
  19. 19. I'm Over The Firing Line
  20. 20. Just Another Day
  21. 21. Jesus Paid My Debt
  22. 22. He's My Friend Until The End
  23. 23. End Of My Jouney
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

The rise of a Chicago preacher's kid to stardom, first in gospel music and then in mainstream pop, followed by a sad and sordid death at the age of 33 in a seedy motel room in Los Angeles, sounds like the plot for a tacky film noir, but that in a nutshell is the story of Sam Cooke. In the '50s, the Soul Stirrers were one of the leading groups in gospel music, with a string of memorable and classic songs, but in 1957 Sam departed to pursue a pop music career, with hits such as "Chain Gang", "Cupid", "What A Wonderful World" and "Twisting The Night Away". The 23 tracks on this CD (which should by rights be credited to both Sam and the Soul Stirrers, but I quibble) include some of the aforementioned memorable and classic songs, recorded for Specialty between 1951 and 1953 - "Peace In the Valley", "Come And Go To That Land", "Jesus Gave Me Water" and many more. Audio quality is good considering the age of the material, and if you're an aficionado of Gospel's Golden Age, when the Stirrers and the other legendary quartets were struttin' their stuff along the Gospel Highway, then this is for you, that's if you haven't got some of the re-issues by Ace who have already superbly trawled the Specialty catalogue.

Style: Gospel
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 19239
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Delta 26471
Items: 1
Release Date: 09 Jun 2006

Classic and timeless music from Gospel's Golden Age featuring Soul Stirrers recordings originally cut for Specialty.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music