John Larsson - John Larsson Plays Vol 2: Jesus Folk and Spirit! British Product Audio Samples Available

John Larsson Plays Vol 2: Jesus Folk and Spirit! by John Larsson

Cross Rhythms Rating: 6/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Album, MOR / Soft Pop
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-10 days
Second in a series of keyboard reinterpretations of classic Salvation Army musicals.

Price: £9.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Jesus Folk
  2. 2. It's True
  3. 3. I Don't Remember
  4. 4. Out Of My Darkness
  5. 5. He Came To Give Us Life
  6. 6. Show Us The Father
  7. 7. Is There Anyone Here With An Answer-
  8. 8. Lord, Let Me Go Where You Go
  9. 9. He Speaks
  10. 10. I'm A Rat
  11. 11. Must I Just Stay The Way I Am-
  12. 12. Follow Me
  13. 13. The Crucifixion
  14. 14. I Am The Resurrection
  15. 15. You Know I Love You
  16. 16. There's No Other Name & Finale
  17. 17. Ask, Seek And Knock
  18. 18. Burning, Burning
  19. 19. In Me
  20. 20. Universal Language
  21. 21. Time To Share
  22. 22. For Jesus' Sake
  23. 23. Father, Heavenly Father
  24. 24. The Fruit Of The Spirit
  25. 25. We Will Listen To The Spirit
  26. 26. For The Mighty Moving
  27. 27. If The Spirit Says Go
  28. 28. To Be Like Jesus
  29. 29. Damascus
  30. 30. That's The Spirit
  31. 31. Love Cannot Fail
  32. 32. What Does The Spirit Say
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by David Faulkner

General John Larsson and lyricist General John Gowans penned ten Salvation Army musicals between 1967 and 1990. Larsson is now releasing piano-based versions of them two by two. They are entirely instrumental, the piano occasionally being delicately augmented by a synth. The playing is immaculately rhythmic and disciplined. Although instrumental, the CD booklet contains the lyrics. The words have an economy and deceptive simplicity. But therein lies the problem: you can only sing along if you know the music first. This limits the appeal of the recordings to two groups. One is the nostalgia market, but a review in The Salvationist of this CD suggests that the first volume sold well. The other is as accompaniment for groups planning to stage the musicals - however, given the dated style, how many will do that? This reviewer wonders whether it would have been better to have remastered and reissued the original recordings, even if they were less sophisticated.

Style: MOR / Soft Pop
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 117853
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Salvationist Publishing & Supp 21691
Items: 1
Release Date: 01 Sep 2011

Second in a series of keyboard reinterpretations of classic Salvation Army musicals.

John Larsson plays Jesus Folk and Spirit! is the second in a series of CDs, under the generic title of John Larsson plays, in which General John Larsson plays piano arrangements of the main songs from the ten musicals he co-authored with General John Gowans during the period 1967-1990.

These two scriptural musicals are thematically linked and are among the duo’s most influential works in that, having no Salvation Army reference, they crossed denominational boundaries and have been performed by many Christian groups worldwide.

John Larsson plays Jesus Folk and Spirit! includes 32 songs from the third and fourth musicals written by the duo, among them favourites like He came to give us life, You know I love you, For the mighty moving of the Spirit and To be like Jesus. The CD comes complete with a 32-page booklet containing the lyrics of all of the songs. It is the composer’s prayer that this renewed presentation may bring inspiration not only to those who already know the songs but also to those who will hear them for the first time.

John Larsson - John Larsson Plays Vol 3: Glory! and The Blood Of The LambJohn Larsson - John Larsson Plays Vol 3: Glory! and The Blood Of The Lamb
Ambient/Meditational CD British Product Audio Samples Available


New piano arrangements of songs from the Glory! and The Blood Of The Lamb musicals.

For more information about John Larsson, check the John Larsson Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music