dc Talk - Jesus Freak 10th Anniversary (Special Edition) Cross Rhythms Radio Airplay Audio Samples Available

Jesus Freak 10th Anniversary (Special Edition) by dc Talk

Cross Rhythms Rating: 10/10
CD: Album
Tags: Rock, CD, Album, Chart, Recommended, Top Rated, Airplay
A double CD featuring a remastered version of the 1995 classic and an album of remixes and live versions.

Price: £9.97 was £12.99 Check other currencies
This product is temporarily out of stock. You can back-order now.
  1. 1. So Help Me God
  2. 2. Colored People
  3. 3. Jesus Freak
  4. 4. What If I Stumble-
  5. 5. Day By Day
  6. 6. Mrs. Morgan
  7. 7. Between You And Me
  8. 8. Like It, Love It, Need It
  9. 9. Jesus Freak (reprise)
  10. 10. In The Light
  11. 11. What Have We Become
  12. 12. Mind's Eye
  13. 13. Alas My Love (poem)
  14. 14. So Help Me God (Savadocious Junk Yard Mix 1974)
  15. 15. Jesus Freak (The Savage Perspective Mix)
  16. 16. What If I Stumble- (DoubleDutch Remix)
  17. 17. Between You And Me (fab Remix)
  18. 18. Like It, Love It, Need It (dDubb Remix)
  19. 19. What Have We Become- (dDubb Remix)
  20. 20. Mind's Eye (Demo Featuring Mark Heimermann) Unreleased Demo Version
  21. 21. Jesus Freak (Gotee Brothers Freaked Out Remix)
  22. 22. Help! (Live)
  23. 23. Colored People (Live)
  24. 24. It's The End Of The World (As We Know It) (Live)
  25. 25. I Wish We'd All Been Ready (Live)
  26. 26. 40 (Live)
  27. 27. In The Light (Instrumental Version)
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

The release in 1995 of 'Jesus Freak' was a pivotal moment in the history of CCM. As the Encyclopedia Of Contemporary Christian Music said, "DC Talk reinvented Christian music, almost single-handedly rescuing it from the contrived commercialism and derivative doldrums of the '80s." It took a while for the guys to deliver. After a truly inept debut album they'd steadily improved until they produced a joyfully effervescent fusion of pop and rap in 1992's 'Free At Last'. But nothing quite prepared us for "Jesus Freak". Here was one of the best riffs heard in any kind of music and those searingly savage guitars were only the beginning. The hook seemed to speak to the whole of church-based youth struggling to be cool yet vibrantly Christian and often being sucked into compromise in the process. The compelling rock rap title cut was the jewel in the 'Jesus Freak' crown but there were plenty of other musical delights on the album - a blistering cover of Charlie Peacock's "What If I Stumble", the clever re-working of the Godspell oldie "Day By Day", and the nearest thing dc Talk ever got to a mainstream pop hit, the hooky "Just Between You And Me". 'Jesus Freak' was a classic then and the remastered songs remain marvellously memorable today. Disc 2 is a veritable collectors' feast. It contains seven remixes, an unreleased demo version of "Mind's Eye" featuring Mark Heimermann, four live versions and an instrumental of "In The Light". I suppose there is stuff here which will have hardcore McKeehan, Max and Tait fan salivating though there are only a couple of items which bring new enjoyment to the 'Jesus Freak' listening experience. The opener, the Savadacious Junk Yard Mix of "So Help Me God" works well though by dumping the guitars The Savage Perspective Mix of "Jesus Freak" loses much of its impact. There were other disappointments on the second disc with the live versions seeming to be there to make up the numbers. But that remastered disc 1 is still a timeless gem.

Style: Rock
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 18833
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Forefront FFD11571
Items: 2
Release Date: 14 Dec 2006

A double CD featuring a remastered version of the 1995 classic and an album of remixes and live versions.

Switchfoot - Oh! GravitySwitchfoot - Oh! Gravity
Rock CD Cross Rhythms Radio Airplay Audio Samples Available

£9.97 £12.99

An eclectic set of songs from the San Diego rockers.

dc Talk - Two For One:  Free At Last/Supernaturaldc Talk - Two For One: Free At Last/Supernatural
Hip-Hop CD Audio Samples Available

£9.97 £13.00

Two best selling albums from 1992 and 1998 in value-for-money package.

dc Talk - Nu Thangdc Talk - Nu Thang
Hip-Hop CD Cross Rhythms Radio Airplay Audio Samples Available


For more information about dc Talk, check the dc Talk Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)
Posted by Sarah Jeffries in United Kingdom at 12:55 on Apr 20 2009

Every fan of christian music should have this in their collection. It's possibly the best album ever made.

Sarah Jeffries's rating: 10/10

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music