Various - Golden Jubilee: Johnny Cash Audio Samples Available

Golden Jubilee: Johnny Cash by Various

Cross Rhythms Rating: 3/10
CD: Album
Tags: Country, CD, Album
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
2 copies available
  1. 1. He Turned The Water Into Wine
  2. 2. I'm Just An Old Chunk Of Coal
  3. 3. Dear Old Doc Brown
  4. 4. I've Got That Old Time Religion
  5. 5. Over The Next Hill We Will Be Home
  6. 6. When Johnny Comes Marching Home
  7. 7. Suffer The Little Children
  8. 8. Shall We Gather At The River
  9. 9. Take My Life Just As I Am
  10. 10. A Gentle Breeze Glory, Glory, Hallelujah
  11. 11. Shall We Gather At The River
  12. 12. A Diamond Of Grace Ragged Old Flag
  13. 13. When Johnny Cash Sang Man In Black
  14. 14. Teach Me A Little Each Day
  15. 15. When He Comes
  16. 16. The Fourth Man
  17. 17. The Far Side Banks Of Jordan
  18. 18. Amazing Grace
  19. 19. If We Never Meet Again
  20. 20. Suffer The Little Children
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Heather Marsden

Take one living legend of country music, add a collection of talented country musicians and finally throw in lots of country gospel classics. This you might think is a recipe for a musical tribute that befits Johnny Cash's 50 years in the music business. Actually it's a recipe for disaster. Described as a "keepsake souvenir", this CD consists of 20 previously released recordings by a series of Cash's friends such as Pat Boon and George Hamilton IV. One of the CD's more serious flaws is that Cash himself features on only one track, a pleasant duet with Glen Campbell called "Suffer The Little Children". A few of the performances themselves are fine, however, each song is prefaced by a spoken tribute to Cash. These contain biographical and inspirational comments but many are repetitive and presented with all the schmaltz of the worst American Award Ceremony. Where else could you hear drug addiction described as a "little pharmaceutical difficulty"? It's hard to see who this CD is aimed at. There is little here for real fans and as an introduction to Cash's gospel music it fails abysmally.

Style: Country
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 2364
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Word TRIBD003
Items: 1
Release Date: 2000

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music