Henry Vyner-Brooks - Giant Shoulders: If The Rocks Could Speak British Product Audio Samples Available

Giant Shoulders: If The Rocks Could Speak by Henry Vyner-Brooks

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Album, Independent, Rock, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-3 days
Concept piece based on a yet-to-be published novel Will Houston: On The Shoulders Of Giants.

Price: £9.97 was £11.97 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Under The Knife - Hospital Audio Dramatisation
  2. 2. Concert Intro
  3. 3. If The Rocks Could Speak
  4. 4. Love On The Mersey - Merseyside Interview
  5. 5. Concert Intro
  6. 6. Loving Against The Tide
  7. 7. A Rough Diamond - Whitehaven Interview
  8. 8. Concert Intro
  9. 9. The Wild Olive Branch
  10. 10. Peace Of Mind Concert Exert
  11. 11. Peace Tonight
  12. 12. Dora Trials - Wooded Knoll Interview
  13. 13. Concert Intro
  14. 14. Patience Of A Saint
  15. 15. Where The Mighty Fell - Buttermere Interview
  16. 16. Concert Intro
  17. 17. Gentle Giants
  18. 18. The Refuge - Lorton Interview
  19. 19. Concert Intro
  20. 20. Dora's Song
  21. 21. Hard Rock - Mountain Interview
  22. 22. Concert Intro
  23. 23. Bull Fighters & Mountain Climbers
  24. 24. Bombsite - On Wallasey Interview
  25. 25. Stick Together
  26. 26. Concert Intro
  27. 27. I Will Wait
  28. 28. Concert Intro
  29. 29. Rejoice
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Paddy Hudspith

Something of an oddity this, but an intriguing and rewarding experience nonetheless. Songwriter, producer and mainstay of the Giant Shoulders band is Hugh Vyner-Brooks, a cancer survivor inspired during 2005-2007 to write the story of "a map to adulthood for young men and women" in the tale of another young man with the illness, Will Houston - On The Shoulders Of Giants. Simultaneously his musical juices got flowing and he quickly penned the songs here based on the themes and characters of the book, resulting in this CD as a promotional tool for the novel (or vice versa - it's a little hard to tell!). So, long story short, regardless of their literary links these songs stand up very well on their own, offered generally in a country rock vein due largely to the presence of British guitar legend Albert Lee. Name a rock'n'roll giant and the likelihood is Lee has played with them - Chuck Berry, Little Richard, the Beatles, Joe Cocker, Eric Clapton, the list is almost endless. It would be easy for such a contributor to overshadow the rest of the proceedings, but Vyner-Brooks (not to mention the other top-notch musicians) has plenty of presence himself. His strong vocal performance is bolstered by scene-setting mini-interviews staged with the songwriter and, strangely, his "live" introductions to each obviously studio-anchored track. These fake concert moments (including canned crowd noise) are unconvincing and mostly redundant but, thankfully, just about the only disappointing element of 'If The Rocks Could Speak'. It's a well-produced, heartfelt, moving set with highlights being the powerful "Bullfighters And Mountain-Climbers" (great title) and a touching "I Will Wait For You" sung by Hugh alongside his wife Ruth. Definitely worth an hour or so of your time.

Style: Rock
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 43506
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Independent
Items: 1
Release Date: 2007

Concept piece based on a yet-to-be published novel Will Houston: On The Shoulders Of Giants.

Posted by Samantha Brooks in Kendal , Cumbria at 22:39 on Nov 25 2008

A rich and embracing music that has strong country styel with a great tribute to Reggae beat on one track spanning to a track that sounds heavy enough to be from Meatloafs Bat out of Hell Collection. A great easy listening and vibrant mix. Well recommended with a strong christian weave.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music