Feel The Spirit - Feel The Spirit! Audio Samples Available

Feel The Spirit! by Feel The Spirit

Cross Rhythms Rating: 7/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Album, MOR / Soft Pop
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
A 21-track compilation of a group of popular Hollywood actresses.

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. Do Lord
  2. 2. I'm Really Livin'
  3. 3. Jacob's Ladder
  4. 4. Give Me That Old Time Religion
  5. 5. Medley- I've Got The Joy-Summertime In My Heart-Oil In My Lamp
  6. 6. The World Is Not My Home
  7. 7. Somewhere List'nin'
  8. 8. Medley- Talkin' About The Lord-Ev'ry Day With Jesus-Forgive Me Lord
  9. 9. He's Got Time
  10. 10. The Magic Of Believing
  11. 11. Do Lord
  12. 12. He Was There
  13. 13. Yes, Indeed!
  14. 14. It Is No Secret
  15. 15. Joshua Fit De Battle Of Jericho
  16. 16. Let The Light Shine On Me
  17. 17. Lonesome Valley
  18. 18. Amen
  19. 19. There
  20. 20. Ac-cent-tchu-ate The Postive
  21. 21. Vaya Con Dios
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Stephen Luff

With the sad news of Jane Russell's death, this compilation, originally released in 2008, is deserving of mention. The Hollywood Christian Group was made up of a number of stars of the silver screen including Roy Rogers, Dale Evans and four ladies, Beryl Davis, Connie Haines, Della Russell and Jane Russell. They were later joined by Rhonda Fleming. The ladies made up this singing group originally formed for a charity event. Astonishingly, for a group of singing actresses performing old gospel songs and spirituals, Feel The Spirit met with phenomenal success. The first track on this compilation is the million seller "Do Lord", a lively number whose style is a product of its time (1954) and reminds me of the musical format led by the highly successful artist of the time, Les Paul. During their musical career Feel The Spirit recorded for two labels, Coral and, around three years later, Capitol. The latter label provided better production and more accessible commercial recordings, including a second version of "Do Lord" and some cringe worthy moments such as the lyrics, "You can wish on a star/And your wish can come true/You can do anything/You believe you can do" from "The Magic Of Believing". This said, there are some enjoyable versions of traditional songs such as "Jacob's Ladder" and "I've Got The Joy" and without a doubt these actresses could certainly sing! The recording quality is surprisingly clear and acceptable to 21st century ears, although the Coral recordings generally struggle with the higher frequencies. In summary, this is a great example of a group of believers trying to reach out to their generation, using the platform they had. A fascinating dig into the archives well worth investigating.

Style: MOR / Soft Pop
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 95354
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Jasmine Records JASCD479
Items: 1
Release Date: 2008

A 21-track compilation of a group of popular Hollywood actresses.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music