Elevation - Fanny Crosby 1820-1915: Safe In The Arms Of Jesus Audio Samples Available

Fanny Crosby 1820-1915: Safe In The Arms Of Jesus by Elevation

Cross Rhythms Rating: 6/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Hymnody, Album
High church sounding renditions of 20 of the renowned hymnwriter's works.

Price: £12.99 Check other currencies
This product has not yet been released. You can pre-order now.
  1. 1. Blessed Assurance
  2. 2. Safe In The Arms Of Jesus
  3. 3. Praise Him, Praise Him
  4. 4. Every Day And Hour (Savior More Than Life To Me)
  5. 5. Rescue The Perishing
  6. 6. Jesus Is Tenderly Calling
  7. 7. All The Way My Saviour Leads Me
  8. 8. Pass Me Not
  9. 9. Though Your Sins Be As Scarlet
  10. 10. To God Be The Glory
  11. 11. Redeemed, How I Love To Proclaim It
  12. 12. Draw Me Nearer (I Am Thine O Lord)
  13. 13. Sweet Moments Of Prayer (Here From The World We Turn)
  14. 14. Close To Thee (Thou My Everlasting Portion)
  15. 15. 'Tis The Blessed Hour Of Prayer
  16. 16. Saved By Grace (Some Day The Silver Chord Will Break)
  17. 17. He Hideth My Soul (A Wonderful Saviour Is Jesus)
  18. 18. Tell Me The Story Of Jesus
  19. 19. O My Saviour I Am Weary
  20. 20. Near The Cross
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

First a note about the "artist credit." Record labels of all types continue to release albums without any kind of information as to who is precisely performing the songs. These tracks were leased from Classic Fox Records who in times past have issued such dubious listening pleasures as 'The Complete Line Dancing Collection', 'Masterworks Of Worship 4 CD Boxset' and 'Best Movie Songs Vol 3' and there is no indication as to the identity of the choir who sing the oldies from the renowned American mission worker, poet, lyricist and composer. The 100 year anniversary of Frances Jane Crosby's death (the blind hymnwriter died on 12th February 1915) is the peg on which this particular collection hangs. There is a generous 20 tracks here though considering Fanny wrote an amazing 8,000 hymns and gospel songs there's plenty of potential for further volumes. Her best known works - "Blessed Assurance", "Pass Me Not", "All The Way My Saviour Leads Me" and "To God Be The Glory" - are all present and correct and the versions here, sung by a high church sounding choir, are adequate enough.

Style: Hymnody
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 154886
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Elevation ELE2079D
Items: 1
Release Date: 28 Feb 2015

High church sounding renditions of 20 of the renowned hymnwriter's works.

February 12th 2015 is a significant date in the calendar for it marks the 100th anniversary of the passing of Frances Jane Crosby (March 24, 1820 ľ February 12, 1915). áMore commonly known as Fanny Crosby, she was a muchácelebrated American mission worker, poet, lyricist, and composer. A lifelong Methodist, she was one of the most prolific hymnists in history, writing over 8,000 hymns and gospel songs, with over 100 million copies printed. This album is theácelebration of a life well spent, creating Hymns that are still the bedrock of the church service today.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music
Don't know what to buy?

Try our music advice service. Christian Music Advice Service