Honeytree - Evergreen/The Melodies In Me Audio Samples Available

Evergreen/The Melodies In Me by Honeytree

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: Jesus Music, CD, Album, Independent, Top Rated
A twofer featuring much loved Jesus music oldies of the '70s.

This product cannot be purchased from Cross Rhythms Direct, as it is an independent release only available direct from the supplier.
  1. 1. Evergreen 1
  2. 2. Evergreen
  3. 3. It's Only Right 1
  4. 4. It's Only Right
  5. 5. (Lovely Jesus) Here I Am
  6. 6. Mary And Martha
  7. 7. Ruth
  8. 8. I Am Your Servant
  9. 9. Rattle Me, Shake Me
  10. 10. Searchlight
  11. 11. Say You Told Me So
  12. 12. Sometimes I Need You
  13. 13. Lullaby In Jesus' Name
  14. 14. The Broadmoor Song
  15. 15. Melody
  16. 16. Up To The Mountains
  17. 17. Making Melody In My Heart
  18. 18. Bittersweet
  19. 19. Thief
  20. 20. His Majesty Reigns
  21. 21. Mirage
  22. 22. One Sweet Word
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

In the '70s Honeytree was a pioneering Jesus Music artist writing songs about her faith in a style akin to someone like Carole King or Joni Mitchell though with more of a country tinge. These two albums are considered to be her best and have been re-released as a double CD. 'Evergreen' was originally issued in 1976 and was produced by Sparrow Records founder Billy Ray Hearn and utilised musicians that backed some major Christian artists of the time. So contributions from Phil Keaggy and bassist Joe Osborn add to the quality here. Songs like "It's Only Right" talks about having a travelling band and singing the Gospel. "Lovely Jesus (Here I Am)" sounds like pure Laurel Canyon and Keaggy's flourishes add a musical richness to the song he wrote. "Mary And Martha" has a poppy feel with great flute and guitar work. There's a lovely version of Larry Norman's "I Am A Servant" which she recorded before Larry got it on vinyl a year later. Many have subsequently argued that Honeytree's version is actually better than Norman's. Another favourite was the comic "Rattle Me, Shake Me" which pokes fun at how Christians who are full of joy can sometimes be mistaken as full of other things! "Searchlight" has a proto disco groove with flowing string arrangements and some great gospelly backing vocals. 'The Melodies In Me' was released in 1978 and it begins with the swinging big band of "The Broadmoor" song which tells the story of how her parents met. There are plenty of autobiographical songs here. "Thief" talks about procrastination whilst "Bittersweet" has a jazzier Joni Mitchell feel to it. "His Majesty Reigns" sounds like "olde" world music. The song is delightful though I keep expecting a band of lute players to walk in! Listening to these two albums, it's clear to see why Honeytree was so popular in the '70s. Her lovely pure voice and honest lyrics make these albums classics of their time.

Style: Jesus Music
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 2390
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Independent
Release Date: 2014

A twofer featuring much loved Jesus music oldies of the '70s.

Honeytree - The Way I FeelHoneytree - The Way I Feel
Jesus Music 12 inch vinyl


Honeytree - EvergreenHoneytree - Evergreen
Jesus Music 12 inch vinyl


For more information about Honeytree, check the Honeytree Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music
Don't know what to buy?

Try our music advice service. Christian Music Advice Service