Mike Rayson - Even So: 1 Audio Samples Available

Even So: 1 by Mike Rayson

Cross Rhythms Rating: 7/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Album, Independent, Roots/Acoustic, Christmas
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-3 days
A collection of classic hymns set to contemporary guitar, interspersed with prayers.

Price: £9.97 was £12.00 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Prelude
  2. 2. O For A Thousand Tongues
  3. 3. St. Patrick's Breastplate-Blessing
  4. 4. Come Thou Almighty King
  5. 5. Isaiah 9-2
  6. 6. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  7. 7. John 1, Luke 2
  8. 8. Hark The Herald Angels Sing
  9. 9. My Hope Is Built - Solid Rock
  10. 10. Softly And Tenderly
  11. 11. Kyrie Eleison
  12. 12. The Spirit Song
  13. 13. Psalm 23
  14. 14. It Is Well
  15. 15. Romans 8
  16. 16. My Jesus I Love Thee - Jesus Loves Me
  17. 17. Come Children Join To Sing
  18. 18. Wesleyan Covenant Prayer
  19. 19. Here I Am
  20. 20. Doxology-It Is Well
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Simon Eden

Every Christmas many traditional churches put on a Festival Of Nine Lessons And Carols service but only a few are likely to do it with guitars. Australian Mike Rayson has taken a number of well known Christmas carols such as "O Come, O Come Emmanuel" and "Hark The Herald Angels Sing" as well as other hymns such as "O For A Thousand Tongues" and set them to contemporary acoustic guitar. Although the arrangements are familiar, the guitar accompaniment definitely works to the extent that the traditional church organ isn't needed. Most of the tracks are interspersed with prayers and Bible readings with an international mix of accents including that of Tony Miles. Scriptures are familiar ones such as the Christmas story, Psalm 23 and Romans 8.28. This compilation successfully bridges a generational divide between those familiar with the 1662 Book Of Common Prayer and those modern churches used to guitar-based worship but is most likely to appeal to a mature but vibrant audience. If you wanted Latin liturgy, there is a setting of the "Kyrie Elison". The Rayson family Sunday school also make an appearance in the hymns "It Is Well" and "Come Children Join To Sing" as sung by a high pitched young Laura and Oliver Rayson. This is cross-generational family worship of considerable charm.

Style: Roots/Acoustic
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 81498
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Items: 1
Release Date: 2009

A collection of classic hymns set to contemporary guitar, interspersed with prayers.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music