Blind Joe Taggart - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order Vol 2 1929-1934 Audio Samples Available

Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order Vol 2 1929-1934 by Blind Joe Taggart

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: Blues, CD, Album, Recommended, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
Pre-war recordings from the street evangelist with additional rare sides by Blind Gussie Nesbit and Rev Edward W Clayborn.

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. Oh Oh Lonesome Blues
  2. 2. Pennsylvania Woman Blues [Take 1 - Test]
  3. 3. Pennsylvania Woman Blues [Take 2]
  4. 4. Wonder Will My Trouble Then Be Over
  5. 5. Strange Things Happening In The Land
  6. 6. Waded In The Water Trying To Get Home
  7. 7. He Done What The World Couldn't Do [Take 2]
  8. 8. He Done What The World Couldn't Do [Take 3]
  9. 9. Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down
  10. 10. I Ain't No Sinner Now
  11. 11. Pressin' Up That Sunny Way
  12. 12. In That Pearly White City Above
  13. 13. I Wonder Will My Mother Be On That Train-
  14. 14. God's Gonna Seperate The Wheat From The Tares
  15. 15. When I Stand Before The King
  16. 16. I Ain't No Sinner Now
  17. 17. Blind Gussie Nesbitt - Pure Religion
  18. 18. Blind Gussie Nesbitt - Canaan Land
  19. 19. Blind Gussie Nesbitt - Motherless Children
  20. 20. Blind Gussie Nesbitt - I'll Just Stand And Wring My Hands And Cry
  21. 21. Rev. Edward W. Clayborn - Your True Friends
  22. 22. Rev. Edward W. Clayborn - Come And Go With Me To My Father's House
  23. 23. Rev. Edward W. Clayborn - When I Lay My Burden Down
  24. 24. Rev. Edward W. Clayborn - Where Shall I Be (When The First Trumpet Sounds) [Alternate Take]
  25. 25. Rev. Edward W. Clayborn - There'll Be Glory
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Street singer Blind Joe Taggart was a powerful guitar evangelist and there are some tremendous performances here. "Waded In The Water Trying To Get Home" featured a second guitar from Josh White (then only 14 and who was to grow up to become one of the giants of folk blues), "He Done What The World Couldn't Do" is an emotionally charged version of a song usually known as "Lord, He Sure is Good To Me" and "In That Pearly White City Above" offers some novel guitar work from Taggart. As well as these and other gospel tracks dubbed from hugely rare Paramount 78s there are also three secular recordings made by Six Cylinder Smith, who is believed to be Taggart. And if that wasn't enough, this album also features four recordings made by Blind Gussie Nesbitt (1930-1935). Nesbitt's "Motherless Children" has the singer approximating the wonderful false bass vocalising of Blind Willie Johnson. Finally, there are five recordings by Rev Edward W Clayborn whose rich voice and tasty bottleneck guitar should have gained more than the obscurity history rewarded him.

Style: Blues
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 20522
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Document DOCD5154
Items: 1
Release Date: 1992

Pre-war recordings from the street evangelist with additional rare sides by Blind Gussie Nesbit and Rev Edward W Clayborn.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music
Don't know what to buy?

Try our music advice service. Christian Music Advice Service