The Cathedrals - Collection: Hymns & Spiritual Songs Audio Samples Available

Collection: Hymns & Spiritual Songs by The Cathedrals

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Southern Gospel, Album, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
26 vintage recordings by the Southern gospel harmonisers.

Price: £13.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Revive Us Again
  2. 2. Room At The Cross
  3. 3. Tell It To Jesus
  4. 4. Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  5. 5. Wonderful Grace Of Jesus
  6. 6. My Jesus I Love Thee
  7. 7. Won't It Be Wonderful
  8. 8. At The Cross
  9. 9. Saved, Saved
  10. 10. Abide With Me
  11. 11. Lonely Road Up Calvary's Way
  12. 12. Near To The Heart Of God
  13. 13. All Hail The Power
  14. 14. Champion Of Love
  15. 15. For What Earthly Reason
  16. 16. I'm Gonna Live Forever
  17. 17. You Can Walk On The Water
  18. 18. God Himself The Lamb
  19. 19. Somebody Touched Me
  20. 20. We Shall See Jesus
  21. 21. Blood Washed Band
  22. 22. Plan Of Salvation
  23. 23. How Unworthy I Am
  24. 24. Ticket To Paradise
  25. 25. It's Almost Over
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Any casual browser encountering this two CD box set, originally released in 1999, will be forgiven in thinking this was a collection of hymns sung by cathedral choirs. In fact, despite the cover pic of York Minster, this is a compilation of 26 songs by those much-loved Southern gospel harmonisers The Cathedrals. With over 80 albums to choose from, any compiler is going to be spoiled for choice but there are at least a couple of fan favourites here such as their elegant rendition of Beverly Shea's "We Shall See Jesus" and Gaithers' "Somebody Touched Me". Other standouts are their joyful "Revive Us Again" and their towering renditions of hymn favourites "Abide With Me" and "Great Is Thy Faithfulness". If you have fond memories of the thunderous bass voice of George Younce or, from a more recent era, the expressive tenor of Ernie Haase, these vintage recordings will bring a nostalgic glow to your heart.

Style: Southern Gospel
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 123187
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Riversong 084418239924
Items: 2
Release Date: 1999

26 vintage recordings by the Southern gospel harmonisers.

The Cathedrals - The Best Of The CathedralsThe Cathedrals - The Best Of The Cathedrals
Southern Gospel CD Audio Samples Available


Even if it is late in the day career-wise, 19 Cathedrals tracks - released in the UK like this- is a lesser miracle!

For more information about The Cathedrals, check the The Cathedrals Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music