David Smith - Christmas: Life In The Spirit, An Audio Advent Calendar British Product Audio Samples Available

Christmas: Life In The Spirit, An Audio Advent Calendar by David Smith

Cross Rhythms Rating: 5/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Ambient/Meditational, Album, Independent, Christmas
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-3 days
25 meditations for Advent on the theme of 'Life In The Spirit'.

Price: £9.97 was £10.00 Check other currencies
  1. 1. All You Can Give Me
  2. 2. Love - The First Noel
  3. 3. Joy - It Came Upon The Midnight Clear
  4. 4. Peace - Silent Night
  5. 5. Hallelujah Jesus Is King
  6. 6. Patience - We Three Kings
  7. 7. Kindness - Amid Winter's Snow
  8. 8. Goodness - Hark The Herald
  9. 9. Let Your Kingdom Come
  10. 10. Faithfulness - Brightest And Best
  11. 11. Gentleness - As With Gladness
  12. 12. Self-Control - O Come All Ye Faithful
  13. 13. Million Suns
  14. 14. Wisdom - Once In Royal
  15. 15. Knowledge - Star Of Wonder
  16. 16. Prophecy - Away In A Manger
  17. 17. With My Life
  18. 18. Healing - O Come O Come Emmanuel
  19. 19. Miracles - Joy To The World
  20. 20. Faith - Angels From The Realms
  21. 21. Spirit Of God
  22. 22. Discernment - Hail Thou Ever-Blessed
  23. 23. Tongues - As With Gladness
  24. 24. Interpretation - O Come Let Us Adore
  25. 25. My Lord My God
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Ewan Jones

Clearly a niche release, this CD is intended, as the title suggests, to be an audio Advent calendar. Each track ranges in length from one and a half minutes to five minutes - perhaps an addition to quiet time rather than a replacement. Each day begins with a song, either a traditional instrumental rendition of a popular carol, or a band arrangement of original, modern songs. There is a sharp contrast in quality between the recordings; the St Michael le Belfrey Chamber Ensemble are clearly recorded and mixed, while the modern band recordings of the St Michael le Belfrey Musicians fare less well - although the songs themselves are good, they are let down by poor timing and sound quality. David Smith's thoughts for each day tend to last a minute or so and are made up of Bible readings and portions of teaching relating to spiritual fruit and life. This is an intriguing project that some will find edifying and inspirational this Christmas - it's a shame more time was not taken in the recording.

Style: Ambient/Meditational
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 50008
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Independent
Items: 1
Release Date: 2008

25 meditations for Advent on the theme of 'Life In The Spirit'.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music