Various - Champion Of The World: Wembley Arena Live British Product Audio Samples Available

Champion Of The World: Wembley Arena Live by Various

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: Pop, CD, Worship, Live, Album, Recommended, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. Noel's Introduction
  2. 2. I've Found Jesus
  3. 3. Best Thing
  4. 4. The Wades Introduction
  5. 5. Do You Wanna Go
  6. 6. I Can Love
  7. 7. Caroline's Introduction
  8. 8. Praying For The Winds To Change
  9. 9. U Bring Me Joy
  10. 10. Nothing Shall Seperate Us
  11. 11. No Other Name
  12. 12. The Commissioning Prayer
  13. 13. Noel & Gerald
  14. 14. He Has Risen
  15. 15. Champion
  16. 16. Thanks
  17. 17. Champion Reprise
  18. 18. Sue's Farewells
  19. 19. Bonus Track - Carry The Fire
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

You went to the event; you read the articles, now buy the album. And if by any chance you weren't at the Wembley Arena on 14th June to join with 11,500 others to worship Jesus (3,500 couldn't get tickets!) here's the perfect keepsake to record the renewed Church's relentless move to reclaim the ground given up to football heroes and pop idols. Delirious? kick off with a storming "I've Found Jesus" and the atmosphere never lets up. The Wades sing up some funky R&B gospel, Caroline Bonnet is her usual haunting self, while the man who carried the vision of a redeemed Wembley, Noel Richards, and his magnificent praise band sound as joyful as undoubtedly they were. Also reviewed in CR42: Were you there? Did you hear 45,000 people of all ages and denominations sing "We Want To See Jesus Lifted High"? Did you feel the Spirit move as He descended on people from all over the country, continent and world, as they joined in worship with "Shout To The Lord"? Did your spine tingle whilst the whole of Wembley Stadium proclaimed the anthemic words "He is the champion of the world!"? I wasn't and didn't, but I'm now contemplating kicking myself repeatedly for missing it! This album, as you have no doubt guessed by now, is the first of the recordings to be released from the momentous and ground breaking event where the Christian community at large (very large!) decided that Queen, Live Aid and 'small red ribbon thingy's' were not going to have all the fun for themselves! It feels like a snippet, a mere toe in the pool of the wholeness of the day, but it has caught a 'vibe', that indescribable something that sucks your finger towards the volume control (or towards the arm of the chair , if you have a remote). Matt Redman, Noel Richards, The Wades, Sue Rinaldi, Wayne Drain and Chris Falson are the featured artists on this compilation. Yes, that's right, no Delirious?; no Graham Kendrick; no Dave Bilborough, etc.. The artists that are here, however, are on top form. Obvious highlights come in the shape of "Champion" and "We Want To See Jesus Lifted High", both with Noel Richards at a very steady helm. A frolic romp into "Undignified", followed by the beautifully tender "Shout To The Lord", from Matt Redman, left 45,000 children of God at the throne room, gently resting their heads on Abba's chest. The not-so-obvious highlights came from Wayne Drain (he really is!) with the infectiously boppy "Lost In The Shuffle" (he really was!) and The Wades with their silky smooth R&B touch on "I'm Going Somewhere Way Beyond The Sun". Do I like this album? I think so. Would I buy this album? Probably. 8 Tim Roberts

Style: Pop
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 8932
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Kingsway KMCD976
Items: 1
Release Date: 06 Sep 1996

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music