Garth Hewitt - 30: 30 Songs Spanning 30 Years 1973-2003 British Product Audio Samples Available

30: 30 Songs Spanning 30 Years 1973-2003 by Garth Hewitt

Cross Rhythms Rating: 7/10
CD: Album
Tags: Roots/Acoustic, CD, Album
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
30 years of bite sized Christian messages by a veteran British troubadour.

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
1 copy available
  1. 1. When Johnny Cash Sang 'Man In Black
  2. 2. Strange Weapons
  3. 3. Memories
  4. 4. Lonesome Troubadour
  5. 5. The People Of The West (Amos Rides Again)
  6. 6. You Are Loved Stephen Lawrence (Featuring Denise Ogbeide)
  7. 7. Walk The Talk
  8. 8. Record Of The Weak
  9. 9. Thirty-two Years
  10. 10. Vicious Circle
  11. 11. Wooden Cross Rider
  12. 12. Travellin' (back Home To You)
  13. 13. In A Polish Winter
  14. 14. We Need The Mother Love O God
  15. 15. I Shall Fall
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Paul Kent

Mr Hewitt first released a commercial recording in 1973 with 'The Lion And The Lamb' and has since enjoyed a formidable career, working on a huge variety of projects in a wide range of styles alongside such notable characters as Jessy Dixon and Sir Cliff Richard. This double CD features 30 hand picked tunes spanning 30 illustrious years of songwriting/performing and features a vast array of influences which encompass country, blues, rock and folk. Garth Hewitt is in essence a story teller with a guitar. He echoes something of an era of uncomplicated beauty, using simple and repetitive melody lines to accompany strong "straight down the line" stories that carry a powerful Gospel message. It is perhaps that same simplicity which works so well to make his songs potent (check out "Light A Candle In The Darkness") that works equally against Garth as the repetitive nature of the songs occasionally become tiresome (particularly noticeable in "Not In My Name"). That said, there is a raw passion to these recordings which I find difficult to fault. The simple beauty shines through, humbling a musician such as myself, redirecting me towards some simple biblical truths which are rarely tackled so bluntly in other modern recordings. A useful compilation of Britain's early age of CCM.

Style: Roots/Acoustic
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 8493
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: ICC ICC0737D
Items: 2

30 years of bite sized Christian messages by a veteran British troubadour.

30 is a celebration of Garth Hewitt’s songwriting career, spanning 30 years. Garth’s earthy, roots acoustic style and hard hitting social lyrics have won him many fans over the years, not least through his links to Greenbelt festival which also celebrates its 30th anniversary this year. Jessy Dixon and Martyn Joseph are among the guests on this recording.

Garth Hewitt - Stealing Jesus BackGarth Hewitt - Stealing Jesus Back
Roots/Acoustic CD British Product Audio Samples Available


Latest release from the UK's veteran singer/songwriter, centred around justice.

Garth Hewitt - Did He Jump. . . Or Was He Pushed?Garth Hewitt - Did He Jump. . . Or Was He Pushed?
Jesus Music 12 inch vinyl British Product


A Cliff Richard produced album endeavouring to make Garth into a bona fide pop act.

For more information about Garth Hewitt, check the Garth Hewitt Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)
Posted by Andrew in Lincolnshire at 18:17 on May 6 2007

May I give the correct title of Garth Hewitt's first album - "The Lion and the Lamb" (Myrrh 1001). I had the pleasure of attending music weeks at the London Bible College in the early 1970's where Garth was a tutor. I still have my copy of that album, purchased in August 1973; autographed by Garth & Gill Hewitt and also Pete Bye.

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Email Sign Up

Get the latest info and offers from Cross Rhythms Direct by signing up to our email mailing list.

Sign Up
Recommended Music