Caedmon's Call - 2: Overdressed/Raising Up The Dead Audio Samples Available
See all products in this series

2: Overdressed/Raising Up The Dead by Caedmon's Call

Cross Rhythms Rating: 8/10
CD: Album
Tags: CD, Roots/Acoustic, Album, Top Rated
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days
Two CD compilation from the established Texan alt-folk band.

Price: £13.99 Check other currencies
  1. 1. Trouble
  2. 2. Need Your Love
  3. 3. Sacred
  4. 4. Expectations
  5. 5. There Is A Reason
  6. 6. Share In The Blame
  7. 7. Hold The Light
  8. 8. Two Weeks In Africa
  9. 9. Love Grows Love
  10. 10. All Across The Western World
  11. 11. Always Been There
  12. 12. Start Again
  13. 13. Sometimes A Beggar
  14. 14. She
  15. 15. Family
  16. 16. Miss You
  17. 17. God's Hometown
  18. 18. Come With Me
  19. 19. Streets Of Gold
  20. 20. Time Inside Out
  21. 21. I Need A Builder
  22. 22. David Waits
  23. 23. Raising Up The Dead
  24. 24. Free
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Oscar Hyde

Perhaps it's a little strange for folk pioneers Caedmon's Call to release their two most recent albums as a 2CD set, rather than harder-to-find items from their back catalogue, but the two fit together well. 'Overdressed' is the more optimistic of the two, revelling in twangy, bouncy tunes such as "Two Weeks In Africa" and "All Across The Western World". Lyrics throughout the album show Derek Webb's thoughtful, literate influence, though occasionally they're blunter or less striking than expected. The music's of the alt-country flavour, though not as experimental as Wilco or lush as Lambchop. 'Raising Up The Dead' is feels a much more mature album in many respects, not least in the (kind of problematic) definition of "mature" as "sombre". That's not to say that the music's more depressing (though minor keys make appearances on, say, the more explicitly electric "God's Hometown"), but the album takes the convicting step of focusing on the dead of the title. As the saying goes, the first step to fixing a problem is acknowledging that the problem exists, and when the world's problems are presented so strongly as they are here, the promise that they'll be fixed, as on the title track and the exuberant epic closer "Free", is so very much more powerful.

Style: Roots/Acoustic
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 123743
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: 736211602299
Items: 2
Release Date: 01 Apr 2012

Two CD compilation from the established Texan alt-folk band.

Caedmonís Call was formed in 1993 with six original members Cliff Young, Danielle Glenn,Todd Bragg, Cari Harris, Joshua Moore and Doug Elmore, along with songwriter Aaron Tate. In 1994, the band released their first album, My Calm // Your Storm.

After the collapse of Warner Alliance in 1998, Caedmonís Call signed to Essential Records, where they remained until May 2006.

Aaron Tate and Derek Webb shared most of the songwriting duties until the album Back Home, which featured songs by a more diverse set of writers. Randall Goodgame has, in the proceeding years, become one of the bandís primary songwriters.

Caedmon's Call - Chronicles 1992-2004Caedmon's Call - Chronicles 1992-2004
Roots/Acoustic CD Audio Samples Available


The first "best of" collection from influential and eclectic US folk pop ensemble Caedmon's Call.

Caedmon's Call - Long Line Of LeaversCaedmon's Call - Long Line Of Leavers
Roots/Acoustic CD Audio Samples Available


For more information about Caedmon's Call, check the Caedmon's Call Artist Profile on the main Cross Rhythms website for news stories, feature articles, interviews and much more. (Link opens in new window)

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music
Don't know what to buy?

Try our music advice service. Christian Music Advice Service