Various - 20 Hymn Classics Vol 1 Audio Samples Available
See all products in this series

20 Hymn Classics Vol 1 by Various

Cross Rhythms Rating: 2/10
CD: Album
Tags: Hymnody, CD, Album
Normal Dispatch Time: 1-5 days

Condition: Used - Very Good

A well-cared-for item which may show limited signs of wear or creasing, but without obvious major defects. Please note that Cross Rhythms do not test that used items play correctly, and we do not check the condition of discs and liner notes. If you are not satisfied with the condition of your purchase please contact customer services.

Price: £4.99 Check other currencies
4 copies available
  1. 1. It Is Well With My Soul
  2. 2. And Can It Be That I Should Gain
  3. 3. Have You Any Room For Jesus
  4. 4. Fairest Lord Jesus
  5. 5. He Looked Beyond My Fault - And Saw My Need
  6. 6. Power In The Blood
  7. 7. Higher Ground
  8. 8. Battle Hymn Of The Republic
  9. 9. At The Cross
  10. 10. Amen
  11. 11. Sweet Hour Of Prayer
  12. 12. Jesus Paid It All
  13. 13. Come Thou Fount
  14. 14. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  15. 15. The Day He Wore My Crown
  16. 16. Learning To Lean
  17. 17. All In The Name Of Jesus
  18. 18. Rock Of Ages
  19. 19. Blessed Assurance
  20. 20. Holy! Holy! Holy! Lord God Almighty
This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms review library. Please note that CD/DVD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Sometimes the ways of large record companies are beyond comprehension. For around the same time last year that Nelson Word cleared their warehouse of tens of thousands of excellent albums (look out for them in deletion racks everywhere, folks) they're taking delivery of these four US compilations - put together in the States between 1986 and 1989 of exceedingly iffy quality. Ah, you say, is this Cummings displaying his qualifications for being a rad rocker (You must be joking!! Assistant Editor) by taking a cheap shot at lush middle-of-the-road music and believe me most of the 80 renditions of the world's best loved hymns are so middle of the road - with violins, sweet voiced choirs et al - that the albums could do with cats eyes in between the tracks. But no folks. My objections to these four albums are based in part in the arrangements, which stem mostly from a neo-classical tradition, referred to in the States as "inspirational" but in fact this side of the pond inspiring a dash for the off switch. If you thought Steve Green was OTT, and you should, catch what Ronn Huff, Ralph Carmichael and cohorts were doing with grandiose strings and tympani-driven climaxes back in the '70s when these tracks were recorded. The material here is beautiful incredible, timeless hymns from Watts, Montgomery, Wesley and dozens more. But those sickly saccharine or pompously effected arrangements bring out none of the beauty of the material and have more to do with pandering to religious middle American bad taste than intelligent settings for classic hymns. There are occasional exceptions to all the glutinous MOR - Terry Bradshaw does effective country-gospel and Dallas Holm has a great voice. Not that you'd know. Which brings me to my most scathing criticism reserved for the disgustingly shoddy packing of these volumes. Now I know that they're budget-line. But to drag out songs from your own back catalogue and not even put the artists' names on the compilations smacks of marketing cynicism on a worrying level. In the interests of discographic completeness Volume 1 contains tracks by (deep breath) Ronn Huff And The Cathedral Choir Of Bethany First Church Of The Nazarene, Free Spirit, Nielson And Young, Oklahoma Festival Choir, Bridge, the Don Marsh Orchestra, Ronn Huff And The Electric Light Singers, David T Clydesdale Singers And Orchestra, Terry Bradshaw and Dallas Holm.

Style: Hymnody
Cross Rhythms Product Code: 20461
Product Format: CD
Content Type: Album
Cat. Code: Benson 8441823362
Items: 1
Release Date: 1993

Please type the letters shown above

» Can't read it? Generate another one

Recommended Music